Welcome to Season 13! Use Coupon SEASON13 for a discount off your next purchase!

League of Legends Rankings & Divisions Explained

League ranking systems explained
In recent years, major online games have developed the ability to build a game that allows games to play against other players of similar skill level. The League system is exactly that, a ranking system to find other players of a similar skill level to play with or against. Riot have opted to use a ranking system where players can see their progress through divisions symbolised by a badge. Each division has its own badge so it's easily identified which division your character is currently within.

League of Legends Tiers

Currently league of legends is in the 6th season as of the time of writing for this post. Currently their are 7 different divisions:
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master & Challenger

League of Legends Divisions

Each tier (except Challenger and Master) contains five divisions, with challenger and master only containing one.  Divisions use 1 to 5 in roman numerals with V being the lowest and I being the highest. Divisions from the lowest to highest:
  • V
  • IV
  • III
  • II
  • I
Each ranked game you win earns you League Points while each lost one decreases your current LP. The exact amount of lost or earned League Points per game depends on your hidden Match Making Rating (MMR).

MMR and ELO Explained

MMR is an abbreviation which stands for Match Making Rating. MMR is a hidden rating which every play has and is used to determine which players you play against and the amount of league points you gain or lose. The Elo rating system is a method for calculating the relative skill levels of players in competitor-versus-competitor games such as chess. It is named after its creator Arpad Elo, a Hungarian-born American physics professor. Elo rating system was used in League of Legends ranked games prior to Season Three when the League system was introduced but has now been replaced by MMR.

Promotion and Demotion

Once a player accumulates 100 league points, promotion series trigger. In order to move up a division (1-5), a player needs to win 2 out of 3 games in their promotion series. Moving up tiers works the same way, except you'll need to win three out of five games. If you win your Promotion Series you are promoted to the higher division and your LP is set to 0, if you lose your Promotion Series you remain in your current division, the LP lost is calculated normally. Division Promotion (Gold III > Gold II)
  • Players must win 2 out of 3 promotion games
  • If the promotion is lost then the player will lose LP and the amount is determined by the game outcome.
  • If a player has an MMR higher than their division then they can skip a division i.e. Gold III to Gold I
Tier Promotion (Gold I > Platinum V)
  • Players must win 3 out 5 promotion games
  • If the promotion is lost then the player will lose LP and the amount is determined by the game outcome.
  • If a player has an MMR higher they may be promoted to a high division in the next teir i.e. Gold I to Platinum IV
Promotion to Challenger (Master Tier > Challenger)
  • Players must be in the top 200 ranked players on the server
  • Every night at midnight any Master Tier players in the top 200 will be promoted.
  • Players in Challenger that fall out of the top 200 will be demoted to Master Tier.
  • Players

League Decay

If you are in Platinum or Diamond, after 28 days of inactivity you’ll be hidden from the standings in your league. You will also lose LP depending on your current tier. Every seven days thereafter, you’ll lose LP until you play a match in that queue. In the Master and Challenger tier, players outside of Team Ranked will decay after becoming inactive for 10 days; this is to ensure only the top active players are being showcased. In Ranked Team play, decay will occur after 28 days. The number of LP lost following each period of decay is shown below:
  • Master & Challenger: 250
  • Diamond: 50
  • Platinum: 35
Source At AussyELO, we sell unranked LoL accounts which means your MMR is the default and you can use your fresh account to carry yourself to higher divisions. More information https://support.riotgames.com/hc/en-us/articles/204010760-Ranked-Play-FAQ#h7q1 Save Save Save Save Save Save Save Save Save
Tuesday, March 3, 2020 Admin Back to Blog
An error has occurred. This application may no longer respond until reloaded. Reload 🗙